An Unexpected Journey

IBC SURVIVOR – MY STORY

The Night Before April 10, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — prettygirllost @ 12:44 AM

Image from Microsoft Office

In an earlier post I mentioned hearing about a lady at church being diagnosed with breast cancer.   Tomorrow is her surgery.  She will be having a mastectomy.  As I wonder how she must be feeling today, I think back on how I felt the night before my mastectomy years ago.

The few days leading up to my surgery date were busy with preparation. Then came that quiet time, the night before, when all is done except going to bed..  I can even remember putting on my bed-clothes and feeling like I was living through my last day.  I wanted someone to hold me and tell me everything was going to be okay.   It was a lonely and scary feeling for me.

Now, to all my friends who have undergone this type of surgery, how did you feel “the night before”?  Confident?  Peaceful?  Scared?   Maybe it’s something you can’t remember or maybe something you will never forget.  I would like to hear your stories too….

 

12 Responses to “The Night Before”

  1. I hope your friend will get through her surgery and she will do OK. Nice that she has you as support!

    My double mastectomy was the first surgery I had ever had in my life. To say I was nervous was the understatement of the century. I am a nurse too, so I recalled all the “surgery horror stories” I had seen in my life and was convinced that I would be in that list as well.
    The day before my surgery I wrote birthday cards to my daughters (then ages 8 and 10) all the way up to thie 18th birthday so if anything happened to me, they could get a birhday card from me every year after I was gone till they were grown.

    My daughters are now 19 and 17. They know about the birthday cards, and they refuse to look at them. I look at them though….and I see every one as a “screw you” to my cancer.

    • Wow. I never thought about it from a nurse’s point of view. I guess I should count my ignorance as bliss on that subject.
      You are one brave lady.

      Yes, what a victory that those cards weren’t needed! Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing your story. 🙂 God bless!

  2. I did not have a mastectomy, but the night before my lumpectomy I felt as if we were finally “doing something” and I was relieved. The time between discovering the lump and beginning treatment seemed interminable. Best wishes for a speedy recovery for your friend.

    • Glad your night before was a more positive feeling. I’m sure it helps with the stress of the situation when you go forward with a positive attitude. Thanks for taking time to share. Blessings!

  3. Denise Says:

    I, too, hope your friend does well.

    The night before my mastectomy surgery I just wanted to get the show on the road. I had never had any surgery before except dental surgery, was afraid, but resigned to the fact that I wanted that big tumor out of there. My surgery was the day before Thanksgiving so I was attempting to give thanks, but that was difficult.

    But I have to share the neat things that happened the day of surgery. My anesthesiologist arrived and told me his mom had a mastectomy, chemo and radiation (my protocol) the year before and was doing well. After surgery, the first nurse to take care of me said her mom had a mastectomy, chemo and radiation!
    And honest to God, the next shift nurse came in and said her mom had a mastectomy, chemo and radiation 10 years ago in China and she was doing well.
    From that minute on I knew I would survive this terrible ordeal.

    • Denise it sounds like you had prayers going up for you. What a comfort for all three of those people to give you such a confirmation of recovery. Thanks for sharing it with me. It makes me smile to see God at work in our lives. Now your story will comfort others.

      Thanks and God bless!

      • Denise Says:

        And thanks for asking the question. Sometimes in the midst of all the bad, it is easy to forget the signs along the way! THANK YOU!

  4. It’s nice that we can help each other along the way. 🙂

  5. erinambrose Says:

    Thanks for sharing your story. It is certainly something I can relate to. The night before my bilateral mastectomy I was really ready to get it over with. I had already grieved the loss and gone through some emotional moments soI just wanted the whole thing behind me. My daughter was sweet to come stay the night with me so I wouldn’t be alone and afraid.
    Blessings and hugs~

  6. I was actually feeling fine (I had back surgery in January, so it wasn’t my first operation), I was eager to get it over with. But then my husband started freaking, not wildly or anything but enough to put a queezy feeling in my gut. I started wondering if I should have sat down and written letters to my daughters and husband, just in case. I didn’t, because by then it was one am and we had to get up at five.
    In my experience it seems like it is harder to stand on the side line rather than being the patient. Or maybe that’s just me.
    Thanks for sharing your story 🙂
    Happy Thanksgiving!!!

    • I agree, it probably isn’t easy being on the sideline either. Sorry it created anxiety for you both.

      Thank you for stopping by and sharing! Happy Thanksgiving to you too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

