An Unexpected Journey

IBC SURVIVOR – MY STORY

General Anesthesia Please! March 29, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — prettygirllost @ 12:24 AM
Tags: , ,

I had been trying to decide for quite some time (nearly 2 years) if I was going to have my mediport removed.  Dr. H, my medical oncologist, helped me make the decision at my last visit.  It’s coming out.

Now to face a new unknown…again.  As cancer survivors we are familiar with this feeling.  Since I hadn’t heard of anyone’s experience having their port removed I just made my own assumptions.  I imagined going for outpatient surgery like my previous D&C.  Dr. H’s office had scheduled the appointment so I wasn’t sure if it was for an office visit or surgery.

I called the surgeon’s office and they told me I would have an office visit first.  I am taken into a patient room in the doctor’s office and the nurse asks me to sign the consent form before we head into the procedure room.  What???  I am taken off guard and blurt out “What do you mean procedure room?”  She probably thought I was nuts.  I apoligized and explained my confusion.  It turns out that they can remove the port in the procedure room with a local.  So I agree to get it over with.

Anyone who has read my posts, knows what a chicken I am.   I remind myself that God gives us not the spirit of fear, but of power and love and of a sound mind.  And to fear not, but have faith.  The procedure went fine, but it was quite ….different.  After he made the incision and starting working in there I felt my face going white as a sheet.  It wasn’t from pain.  I had been numbed.  It was just the thought of it all.  Eww…I should have opted for anesthesia.

It seemed like it took forever.  He had trouble getting it free.  I wanted him to stop tugging around in there.   Did you know surgeons are rough?  He showed me the purple port after he removed it.  Funny how I imagined it clear.

Now that my port is gone, the only physical evidence of my battle is the missing breast and the radiation scaring.  People may not always recognize survivors, but our lives are forever changed.

Love and blessings to you all.

 

8 Responses to “General Anesthesia Please!”

  1. I have to imagine it’s a relief to get that thing gone. Going through procedures is really a matter of the mind, isn’t it? I always made sure I was “In my happy place” before anything was done to me.
    Congrats!

  2. Denise Says:

    Hooray! So glad you got your port out! What an accomplishment. Thank you for letting us
    know what happens and what they look like. I picture mine alot different looking!

    • Thank you Denise. I’m glad I didn’t chicken out. ha ha I hope I didn’t frighten anyone with my description. I thought there might be others like me that didn’t know what this is like. I just saw the port briefly. It was purple but my was round instead of angular I think. This pic was the closest I could find to it. What color do you picture your’s?

  3. Melissa Says:

    Surgeons are crazy rough! I learned that during my first and second cesarean sections. They really tug around on our body parts and our bodies seem to handle it. Although it does make sense why we may be so sore afterwards, especially muscularly.

    I would have had the same response knowing what was being done. It’s totally the idea. I have freaked myself out and fainted for the thought of less! LOL!

    Thanks for you reminders of faith. It is something that is ongoingly (yes, I made up a word) difficult for me.

    Talk soon,
    M.

    • Wow, I hadn’t thought about that. How did you do during your C-sections? Did the idea of it bother you? They would probably have to give me “happy” meds for that. ha ha Otherwise I would probably freak out.

      Glad you liked the faith reminders. We’ll have to cheer each other on.

      Thanks for the support. Stop by again. 🙂

  4. angief1967 Says:

    You are one of my heroes…Your faith and courage always amaze me.

    • Awh…thanks. My faith and courage aren’t any greater than yours my friend. You are one super lady! BTW be glad you don’t live close to the Dr. office. I would have called you in panic. Ha ha!


Leave a Reply

