An Unexpected Journey

IBC SURVIVOR – MY STORY

Bearing Fruit February 3, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — prettygirllost @ 5:47 PM
Tags: , ,

I finally started a Pinterest account to see why it has become so popular.  It’s strange that I’m hooked and I don’t know why.  I have pinned recipes, crafts & household tips that I have never tried and pictures of places that I know I will never get to see.  Yet I can spend an hour scrolling through picture after picture.  Am I trying to see it all?  Maybe it is a hoarder’s online paradise.  A person can pin item after item and it won’t clutter the house.  ha ha

On one of those rare occasions when I was away from the computer and actually out of the house, I ran in to one of my friends.  I found out that a nice lady I know has been diagnosed with breast cancer.  “Oh no!” comes out of my mouth before I even realize I am saying it.  Then that horrible feeling in the pit of my stomach.  How can this cancer just keep happening to all these people?!?  I  want to make it stop.  Two days before a friend told me her Aunt was diagnosed with breast cancer.  And they’re not the only ones I’ve heard about in the last couple months in this small town.

Before I had breast cancer, I don’t remember hearing of many occurences.  Does that mean I was just oblivious?  Was it part of the “it can’t happen to me” thing?  Did people mention it and I dismiss it after the conversation was over?  Hmmm..    Sounds like I may have been one of “those people” who get on cancer patient’s nerves.   They say things like: “Cancer?  Oh, yeah.  They have chemotherapy for that.  They should be fine.”  I don’t mean a person shouldn’t be positive.  There is a difference.  A compassion that is missing.  I guess I was missing it too.  At least to a certain degree.  So I’m just as guilty.

Therefore you have no excuse, everyone of you who passes judgment, for in that which you judge another, you condemn     yourself; for you who judge practice the same things.  Romans 2:1  

We live and learn.  We are a work in progress.  God continues to reveal things to us so that we can grow.  He wants us to bear fruits of the Spirit.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,  gentleness and self-control.  Galatians 5:22-23

Hopefully I am bearing more of these fruits day by day.  Blessings to you all.

 

8 Responses to “Bearing Fruit”

  1. where’s the link to your Pintrest board so we can follow??!

  2. Hi Savvy Sister. I thought about posting it but changed my mind. It has my real name on it and then I would lose my anonymity here. Thanks for asking though.

  3. I love how you say…”I’m hooked and I don’t know why”! I felt the same way! Anyway, I know quite a few people who are battling different illnesses and possible deadly addictions. I pray for them! Glad you’re better! ~Sherry~

  4. kimterry Says:

    First, I want to thank you for your comment on my latest blog, “Why Women Need Purses….” I truly love receiving comments on my blog entries, which I have been maintaining since March 2011.

    Second, I just have to leave my two-cents-worth on your remarks about breast cancer. We do tend to become complacent about ourselves. If I hadn’t lost too many friends to it, I might be just as guilty. I, also, received a scare by an “iffy” mammogram, last summer. It brought those friends to mind.

    For me, however, it wasn’t breast cancer that got my attention. It was a bi-frontal meningioma, 3.5″ in diameter, that got my attention big-time! As it turned out, I was blessed beyond belief that it proved to be benign and encapsulated, and my excellent neurosurgeon was able to scoop it out like so much cold, left-over oatmeal ( his description of it, when I asked). That was seventeen years ago, and I’ve been back teaching college English since Fall 1997.

    I am currently “shopping” my book, By Her Daughter’s Hands, to agents.

    I look forward to reading your blog entries!

  5. kimterry Says:

    By the way, I haven’t even sampled Pinterest. You’re way ahead of me. 🙂

    • Hi Kimterry. I am a handbag fanatic. I would carry a new handbag a day if I could afford it. ha ha

      Thanks for stopping by my blog too. I enjoy getting positive feedback.

      So sorry to hear about your bout with bi-frontal meningioma. Sounds horrible. Is that a tumor in the brain? My goodness! It scares me just to think about it.

      What is your book about?

      GIve Pinterest a try. 🙂

  6. kimterry Says:

    Other than a small-scale, surprise birthday party at the restaurant where I worked, I hardly felt my 40th birthday.


Leave a Reply

