An Unexpected Journey

IBC SURVIVOR – MY STORY

A Kind Word August 22, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — prettygirllost @ 10:44 AM
Tags: , , ,
Fawn in a friend’s backyard

I had a nice surprise in my Facebook inbox yesterday. Someone in my family whom I had lost close contact with, sent me a quick thank you message.

Growing up, she and I were close. I was often at her house on the weekends or she was at mine. When she went away to college, I greatly missed her friendship. We wrote letters to each other to keep in touch. (These were the days before texting, emails and cell phones everywhere.) 

After each of us got married, we just seemed to drift off into our own worlds.  Now this relative is sending her daughter off to college and was reflecting back to her college days. This prompted her to send me the thank you note for writing her all those years ago.  Back then, letters from home gave her comfort and support to get through some tough times. I had completely forgotten about writing her, but it was something that meant a lot to her.

Isn’t it wonderful what a kind gesture can do for you? I didn’t realize I had made a difference in her day, but thankfully it did. Now she has brightened my day by taking time to let me know how much she appreciated it.  It helps motivate me to keep  doing little things for others.  We have the opportunity every day to do something kind for others.  It’s the love behind it, that makes a difference. God’s love is a wonderful thing.

Proverbs 12:25

“Anxiety weighs down the heart, but a kind word cheers it up.”

TODAY’S PHOTO:  My friend Angie sends me photos from time to time that she thinks I will enjoy.  This is one of them.  Thought you might enjoy it too.  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

