An Unexpected Journey

IBC SURVIVOR – MY STORY

Half Off Sale June 29, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — prettygirllost @ 6:16 PM
Tags: , ,

bandeaubathingsuits.org

Yesterday I was reading a Living Beyond Breast Cancer article in the Insight newsletter (here’s the link if you are interested http://www.lbbc.org/About-LBBC/LBBC-Newsletter-and-Publication-Archive/National-Newsletter/Insight-Spring-2011 ).  It addresses the need for physical rehabilitation for some after surgery.   Most people, including myself, aren’t educated on affects of surgery beforehand.  Learning to recognize signs of needed physical rehabilitation can help patients recover much sooner.

One lady was telling of her simple joy of being able to dress without help.  Boy, I can sympathize with her.  I had to choose my wardrobe carefully for a long time because I couldn’t raise one arm up high enough.  As I read her comments, I remembered my most recent “wrestle” at a local department store.

Last week I was looking for a swimsuit so I could go swimming with my son.   I couldn’t find the size I needed, but the bargain was so great I decided to try other sizes.  The next size up just made me look like a beached whale.  So I go for my favorite suit in the dressing room that is one size down.  My excitement increased as I pulled the top over my chest.   “Hey. Not bad.”, I whispered to myself.  And it will match the black boy cut shorts I want to buy.  I felt a temporary lift in my low self-esteem as I smiled at my reflection.

Then came the self image crash.  I was pulling up the top as best I could.  My “bad” arm not wanting to help much.  My half-off swimsuit find was now just that… half off.  I temporarily stop my efforts to breathe because I was holding my breath in attempt to escape.  If America’s Funniest Home Videos could see me now, I would probably make it to the semi-finals.  I commenced to wiggling as I pulled and thought about a line from Steel Magnolias, “Looks like two pigs fightin’ under a blanket.” ha ha!

Houdini didn’t have a thing a me, because I escaped that swim top.  Whew!  It was a close one.  ha ha  Needless to say, I didn’t buy it.  And the fact that this girl is feeling really fat, I left with much disappointment.

This after breast cancer thing isn’t as easy as I thought it would be, but I’ve made it to here.  And that is saying a lot.  God has brought me this far.  I’m so thankful for a loving God.

 

6 Responses to “Half Off Sale”

  1. Oh the arm thing…yup…I completely underestimated that part of my lumpectomy. It was literally just yesterday for the first time in a month that my arm felt normal. Yet still when I lift my arm it feels like my underarm has a short cord in it – don’t know if that makes sense…

  2. i love your humor pretty girl! you are right, to have made it is this far is a miracle for us… swimsuits and bad arms pale in comparison to wearing this miracle ❤ have a fantastic july!

  3. hi pretty girl! thinking about you today!!! ❤ hope all is well with you 🙂 God bless you always


Leave a Reply

