An Unexpected Journey

IBC SURVIVOR – MY STORY

Rolling Off Some Tension June 9, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — prettygirllost @ 2:04 PM
Tags: ,

I have been avoiding the bathroom scales for quite some time now.  A couple of days ago I mustered up some courage and hopped up there because of the upcoming oncologist visit.  Well, it was worse than I thought.  I actually gained back some pounds I lost a few months ago.  I was feeling guilty for just maintaining a weight that is still too much..now I have extra guilt.

The only way I can lose the extra weight before my doctor appointment (which BTW is next week, not 2 weeks like I thought) is liposuction and I don’t have the money for that. ha ha

I guess I’ll just have to suck it up and admit my failure.  It’s a wonder my doctor doesn’t roll her eyes in disgust.  She has put up with me this long, so hopefully she won’t give up.   I am back to walking and have cut back on my food intake, if that counts for anything.

At lunch today I was so hungry you would have thought I was eating filet mignon instead of a salad.  Then I downed my water like I actually liked it.  I hate water.  I admire you folks who don’t mind drinking it all day.

I even checked out the popular free dieting website a few weeks ago.  It’s a nice site, but I just don’t get inspired by stories of other people’s weight loss progress.  I’m happy for them, but it doesn’t help me.  Does that make me a mean person?  I received another one of those “inspirational” emails they send.   As usual the person told how they exercise a lot and changed their diet, but then she stated more than once about how “the weight rolled off.”    Well, I’ve lost weight quite a few times in my life, but I it has never rolled off.  They wouldn’t enjoy my email.  It would have to be something like…I was walking back and forth to the kitchen and a package of swiss cakes rolled off the shelf.  But I was strong and didn’t eat them.  LOL  Inspiring, huh? ha ha  Honestly though…I am glad there are people having great things happening to them.

It helps to laugh in the midst of struggle.  Life is serious enough, isn’t it?   Here are some “punny” remarks I would throw out to cut the tension during the beginning of my BC treatment:

In answer to the what are you doing question…Watching the boob tube.

When talking about something I just read or saw…I like to keep abreast of the situation.

Instead of goodbye I would say….ta ta for now.

and my personal favorite

“They are scheduling me for surgery, but I think it’s a booby trap.”

Have a great day all!

 

Leave a Reply

