An Unexpected Journey

IBC SURVIVOR – MY STORY

Facing Vanity May 26, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — prettygirllost @ 10:49 PM
Tags: , ,

2009 Retro Post #8

I knew I was fairly vain, but I didn’t realize to what extent until my hair started falling out and my body swelled like a balloon.  I like having hair!  Makes me glad I was able to buy a wig before people could tell it was coming out.  At first I bought it for my sake, but the longer I wear it, the more I realize it is for everyone else.  It’s hard for people to look at a bald lady.  Without my wig people would stare and/or look away.  And they wouldn’t be able to say that staple….”You look great!”   I know people only say that to be nice.  You know?

Each day brings a new experience.  I soon found out that losing your hair hurts.  Maybe they should add that to the education printout, because it does.  Your scalp feels like you’ve had your hair back in a tight pony tail for a week.  Wearing my little skull cap does help some.

Even at home I try to keep my bald head a secret.  My son is young, so I don’t want to scare him.  We did have a few talks before my hair started falling out.  I explained that the medicine would make my hair come out, but that it would grow back.  He wanted to know if it would come back in a different color. lol  I just love how their mind works.  Ah…he is such a joy.  I’m so thankful to have him in my life.

 

Leave a Reply

